The Alarming Issue of Teacher Turnover in Childcare Programs

Welcome back 😊📋

Last week, I was deeply troubled to hear numerous early childhood leaders discussing the urgent need for teachers due to the alarmingly high turnover rates. They shared shocking stories of teachers leaving abruptly, demonstrating a lack of commitment and responsibility:

"Teacher Suzy never returned from her break." and "I witnessed a teacher abandoning her class to take a personal phone call, leaving the children unsupervised." and…

"Ms. Maya announced that tomorrow would be her last day." and “I had to coach several teachers on the tone of voice they are using with the children.”

and finally…

“I hired a teacher for a 9-to-6 position to provide consistent care for the children. However, three weeks in, she informed me that she can only work until 3 PM.”

Yeah, you get it; you’ve been there. We have all been there.

It's evident that as leaders, we must reassess our approach to hiring, onboarding, and training in the post-COVID era. This issue demands immediate attention and thoughtful action.

This week let’s discuss how, as leaders, we need to look at our new hires differently than before COVID.

As I conduct exit interviews at some childcare programs, here are the Top 6 Reasons Why Teachers are Leaving Childcare:

After reviewing the reasons why teachers are abruptly leaving our childcare programs, I decided that there are 3 areas I would look at:

  1. Interviewing/Hiring

I revised my approach to interviewing and hiring new teachers. Previously, I had a lengthy and thorough process to identify the best candidates who would be a good cultural fit and possess experience and a knowledgeable skill set. Now, I have streamlined the process to be faster, and I emphasize our company's unique offerings to candidates to demonstrate why we are the best place to work. I also reviewed our company's career page and other job postings on social media to ensure they align with our new process.

  1. Training and Career Growth

Over the years, the skill level of newly hired teachers has declined, while expectations for quality have increased. I've noticed that many new teachers lack the child development knowledge and classroom management skills required for the job. To maintain the integrity of our programs, I've adapted by providing individualized training to meet each teacher at their current knowledge and skill level. This ensures that they can provide consistent care and education for the children in their classroom.

  1. Retention

I have gained a new understanding of what employees are currently seeking, and I believe it's important to make adjustments to meet their needs. I have established a communication chain for employees to voice their concerns if they don't feel heard by their direct supervisor. Additionally, we discuss career growth opportunities with each employee and the skills they will need to develop. Lastly, we conduct quarterly surveys to gauge employee satisfaction with their work.

Till next Time,

Jen Sprafka🖍️

P.S. Would you be interested in getting a group of early childhood leaders together on zoom to brainstorm and discuss new ideas? Send me an email so we can choose a time: [email protected]

How Helpful was this Topic?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.